SCHEDULE NOW
SCROLL TO TOP

Virtual and Private Showroom Appointments Are Available —  Schedule Now

Testimonials

Testimonials

Read what our customers are saying

Joy and Delight

“Just a brief note to try to put into words the joy and delight I experienced yesterday after the exceptional tour through Classic Pianos … and the sincere and genuine enthusiasm and hospitality you evidenced … I walked by the store and got the urge to come in, and the magic began the moment I stepped inside and experienced the warmth of its environment.”

Bob Cochran
Portland, Oregon

Unparalleled

“I have known Maurice Unis, and some of his associates, for over twenty-five years. His understanding of technical rebuilding and piano restoration is, in a word, ‘unparalleled.’ The rebuilding of vintage Steinways at Classic Pianos is the finest of any store I’ve ever seen.”

Mark Westcott
International Concert Pianist and Teacher
Portland, Oregon

Patient

“I had a terrific piano buying experience at Classic Pianos. Brian was patient and never pushy as I visited multiple times over the course of a few weeks. He listened to my (somewhat evolving) wish list and worked hard to find the perfect instrument for me …”

Google review

Wonderfully Supportive

“The staff at Classic Pianos are incredibly knowledgeable and were able to recommend pianos appropriate for our use at Mountainside HS – both in terms of their use and our budget! They are also wonderfully supportive of the wider music education community and have provided great service and value with the piano rentals provided to Solo & Ensemble events around the state. For outstanding service, exceptional knowledge, and just wonderful people, you can’t do better than Classic Pianos!”

Jeremy M. Zander
Director of Bands
Mountainside High School
OMEA President-Elect

Magical Musical Connection

“It is an absolute joy to walk into the lobby of Artists Rep and, as audiences are leaving a show, one sits down and plays the piano for a while. Last week a huge group of high school students gathered round while one of them played.

Classic Pianos has gifted us with that type of magical music connection, and I am forever grateful!”

Susannah Mars
Music Events Specialist & Resident Artists
Artists Rep

Passionate

“As an adult fulfilling a lifelong desire to play the piano, I was incredibly inspired by the best selling book, ‘The Piano Shop on the Left Bank.’ The book opened a whole new world to me. The first time I walked into Classic Pianos and found myself amidst the beautifully restored vintage pianos, I felt as if I might be in Paris and that I had discovered a similarly passionate world of piano right here in Portland.”

Widney Moore
The Pearl District; Portland, Oregon
Steinway & Sons M from the Classic Collection

Reviews From Google Customers

  • Avatar Thanh & Vy Do ★★★★★ a week ago
    Hello,
    I thought that I would skip writing a review since I am not used to it. However, Fred from the Classic Piano has made me rethink. I bought a new baby grand Yamaha 2020 after a lot of consideration since my wife simply want to learn
    … More piano. Fred always greet us with an amazing attitude and a big smile (I can tell if it is fake). He spent time showing us all the option, test out different pianos. Oops, my wife has changed ideas many times, but Fred is very patient. I want him to know how much I appreciate the excellent service he provided. He has the best technical and social skills I have ever known. If I can describe his service in one word, it is EXCELLENT!. Good job, Fred,
    Tim & Vivian
  • Avatar Avi Alany ★★★★★ 2 weeks ago
    We got a very decent Baldwin several months ago. I really didn't play it much for the first bit, caught up in other things as I was. Fred, a very interesting and courteous person, came by and did the free tuning included in the … More purchase the other day. I sat down at the piano and played just now and find musical ideas developing as never before. Also, I rented a piano from the store a few years back and they delivered it during a snowstorm. Classic Pianos has been very courteous and professional every time I have dealt with them.
  • Avatar Jacob Soto ★★★★★ 4 weeks ago
    Fred Riley at Classic Pianos is the best!! I took my son with me to purchase our first piano and Fred made our experience fun and memorable. We felt at ease checking out pianos but it didn’t take long before he found us the perfect one … More for our budget. Our beautiful Yamaha piano is now in our home and we could not be happier. It sounds amazing and we haven’t even had our in-home tuning yet!
    As a music teacher in public schools I will wholeheartedly recommend Fred and Classic Pianos to my students and families in a heartbeat! Thank you Fred and Classic pianos for the excellent work you do in bringing joy to families like us!!
  • Avatar Ron Barnett ★★★★★ a month ago
    Fred Riley
    Assisted me in picking out a piano and in was clear from the beginning that he had my best interest in heart. I appreciated his extensive knowledge and care and patience in helping pick out the best piano and getting me the best
    … More price for that piano. He even offered to come over himself to do the first tuning of the piano once it was delivered. The rest of the staff was also courteous and professional. I never felt rushed and always felt they were there for me. I would recommend Classic Piano's to anyone looking for a new or used Acoustic or Digital piano.
    Sincerely
    Ron Barnett
  • Avatar Betty Barnes ★★★★★ a month ago
    I recently was given the responsibility of finding a piano for my church. I contacted three piano stores in Portland and was given superior service from Fred Riley at Portland Classic Pianos. He spent time talking to me about our needs, … More wishes and our budget. Because of the 100 mile distance and the virus, this decision was made on Fred’s recommendation and by seeing pictures. Within a week Fred matched us with the perfect instrument and we enjoyed it in our service today. It’s a beautiful instrument and we are so happy with it. I thank Fred for his time, knowledge and working to get us such a wonderful piano. I highly recommend Portland Classic Pianos and their excellent representative Fred Riley.
  • Avatar Alison Perez ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    I just purchased a piano from Classic Pianos and had a great experience. It was easy to make an appointment to tour the showroom, and once I arrived, Fred Riley was fun and easy to work with. The process was a breeze, I never felt any pressure … More and Fred easily helped me find something within my budget. I’m so excited about the piano he helped me choose and can’t wait to start playing again!
  • Avatar Michelle Dunaway ★★★★★ 2 months ago
    I made an appointment to see some pianos at Classic Pianos with Fred Riley about a month ago. I hadn’t planned on purchasing a piano yet - I just wanted to get a good idea of what was out there in my price range. Fred was attentive … More and helped me to find a piano I liked and met my goals. I don’t like strong salesmen and so Fred had just the right mix of attentiveness and kindness that helped me to feel comfortable moving forward. He has continued to make sure we are happy with our purchase. We are :).
  • Avatar Iqbal Bawa ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    We recently got a piano for our daughter from Classic piano and it was a great experience. Fred Riley was great help and wonderful, he took through all the aspects of buying the piano. He got the right piano for my daughter and within our … More budget. I should say, I did shop around looking to buy the piano but finally it was our great experience working with Fred which made us buy from him. He also came down to tune the piano and we are totally impressed by his service.
  • Avatar Kathie Sharp ★★★★★ 3 months ago
    My husband and I decided it was time to downsize from a large home that had space for my Steinway B piano to a smaller home. The move required that I sell my beloved Steinway. During the course of a year long search to replace that piano, … More I contacted Fred Riley at Classic Pianos. He kept me posted on incoming pianos that might fit my needs. Fred called me immediately when a beautiful Steinway L became available. The piano is lovely and fits into my limited space. Throughout the process, Fred has been a joy to work with. I feel comfortable calling him for follow up questions and he is always available for consultation.

Excellent Service

“Amazing! Incredible! After 20 years of not playing I met Rick at the store and his tour was so inspiring I decided that I wanted a new piano on the spot. Such excellent service and a great financing deal. No regrets! Thank you Classic Pianos!”

Jagna L.
New York, NY

Recommended

“Purchased a piano about 2 weeks ago. Peggy was just AMAZING! I told her my budget and was expecting to purchase a used piano but she worked with me and my budget and I was able to take a brand new piano home!! I couldn’t be happier!

Very happy with my purchase and would recommend this place to anyone who is looking to purchase a piano.”

Google User – ali1987

Dedicated

“I needed a reliable in-tune piano on a shoestring budget. Rick Zachery guided me to a gently used Yamaha Clavinova that fit the bill. The staff are courteous, knowledgeable and professional. Their policy allows you to trade-in a purchased instrument within two years at full value toward an upgrade — which tells you that they are sincerely dedicated to providing quality pianos for any household. It’s worth a visit just to look at the beautiful array of instruments they have in their showrooms. I would do business with Classic Pianos again.”

Lance C.
Portland, OR

We Felt Like Part of Their Team

“We partnered with Classic Pianos to purchase a new Yamaha C7X for our College Theatre as well as new upright pianos in all of the practice rooms at Mt. Hood Community College. The staff at Classic Pianos made us feel like part of their team as they evaluated our needs and advised us on which pianos would best fit each space on campus. They are the type of people that you want to partner with not just for one project, but for life!”

Dan Davey
Director of Jazz Studies
Music Instructor
Mt. Hood Community College

Our Go-to Piano Resource

“For over 15 years, Classic Pianos has been our go-to piano resource. We have worked closely with Taylor to find just the right pianos to suit our needs and we are always completely satisfied with the experience and the instrument we end up with. Thank you for all your expertise!”

Kate Andries
General Manager
The Portland Ballet

INCREDIBLE SELECTION

Ready to Browse Our Selection?

Knowledgeable staff and spacious showrooms
We are devoted to bringing the joy and power of music to families in the Pacific Northwest by representing only brands we know and trust at price points that fit any budget. Plus, our solid financing options and excellent Five-Star Trade-up Policy provide support and peace of mind so your purchase will be worry-free.