SCHEDULE NOW
SCROLL TO TOP
Testimonials

Testimonials

Read what our customers are saying

Joy and Delight

“Just a brief note to try to put into words the joy and delight I experienced yesterday after the exceptional tour through Classic Pianos … and the sincere and genuine enthusiasm and hospitality you evidenced … I walked by the store and got the urge to come in, and the magic began the moment I stepped inside and experienced the warmth of its environment.”

Bob Cochran
Portland, Oregon

Unparalleled

“I have known Maurice Unis, and some of his associates, for over twenty-five years. His understanding of technical rebuilding and piano restoration is, in a word, ‘unparalleled.’ The rebuilding of vintage Steinways at Classic Pianos is the finest of any store I’ve ever seen.”

Mark Westcott
International Concert Pianist and Teacher
Portland, Oregon

Patient

“I had a terrific piano buying experience at Classic Pianos. Brian was patient and never pushy as I visited multiple times over the course of a few weeks. He listened to my (somewhat evolving) wish list and worked hard to find the perfect instrument for me …”

Google review

Wonderfully Supportive

“The staff at Classic Pianos are incredibly knowledgeable and were able to recommend pianos appropriate for our use at Mountainside HS – both in terms of their use and our budget! They are also wonderfully supportive of the wider music education community and have provided great service and value with the piano rentals provided to Solo & Ensemble events around the state. For outstanding service, exceptional knowledge, and just wonderful people, you can’t do better than Classic Pianos!”

Jeremy M. Zander
Director of Bands
Mountainside High School
OMEA President-Elect

Magical Musical Connection

“It is an absolute joy to walk into the lobby of Artists Rep and, as audiences are leaving a show, one sits down and plays the piano for a while. Last week a huge group of high school students gathered round while one of them played.

Classic Pianos has gifted us with that type of magical music connection, and I am forever grateful!”

Susannah Mars
Music Events Specialist & Resident Artists
Artists Rep

Passionate

“As an adult fulfilling a lifelong desire to play the piano, I was incredibly inspired by the best selling book, ‘The Piano Shop on the Left Bank.’ The book opened a whole new world to me. The first time I walked into Classic Pianos and found myself amidst the beautifully restored vintage pianos, I felt as if I might be in Paris and that I had discovered a similarly passionate world of piano right here in Portland.”

Widney Moore
The Pearl District; Portland, Oregon
Steinway & Sons M from the Classic Collection

Reviews From Google Customers

  • Ian McCarty ★★★★★ 3 weeks ago
    My experience at Classic Pianos has been the best hands down out of any piano store/tuning service. As a former piano technician myself, and current professional classical/jazz pianist, I can’t recommend Fred Riley enough. Fred was SUPER … More patient and kind. I think I spent about an hour improvising on different pianos to find one with the right tone and action. He was attentive to my feedback as I assessed each piano that he brought me to, and was able to intuit my musical needs, eventually bringing me to the perfect piano. I settled on a beautifully maintained upright 1967 Steinway which was a bit out of my price range. But Fred worked with me on the price and we came to a very reasonable agreement, and with a payment plan and excellent warranty I came out with the piano of my dreams. Fred offered me a lifetime buy-back policy on the piano for an upgrade in the future! Can’t really beat that.
    The price on moving was extremely reasonable as well, and executed flawlessly. The first tuning was performed by Fred Riley as well. He was precise, quick and efficient. My piano was tuned perfectly for my studio recording needs. Definitely a 5 star piano store and tuning service all around.
  • Michelle Webb ★★★★★ 6 months ago
    As it was time to upgrade our piano for my daughter in her advancing skill level, we came to Classic Pianos at the recommendation of our piano teacher. Out of the three major piano stores in Portland, Classic Pianos is hands-down the best. … More We had the good fortune to work directly with Fred Riley who guided us through the process of getting just the right piano to fit our home, my daughter's ability and our budget. Fred is really fun and easy-going to work with, and seriously knows all things piano. When we came back into the shop to meet with Fred and make our final purchase we brought the whole family, and even Grandma, because what a joyous occasion! We have since had our piano delivered into our home and that process went super smoothly. We LOVE our new piano and listening to my daughter play!
  • Kate M ★★★★★ 7 months ago
    This dealer has earned my undying devotion. I've bought three pianos from them, taking advantage of their 100% trade-in guarantee to work my way up to a really spectacular piano, and have had a wonderful experience each time. But it … More was my most recent purchase where Classic really went above and beyond to ensure my satisfaction. I had been struggling with the selection process and finally landed on a new Yamaha, but couldn't quite commit to it. Brian and Taylor offered to have my preferred tech do quite a bit of prep work on the piano so that I could really appreciate what the piano was capable of and be positive that it was what I was looking for. It worked. After spending some time with the piano after it was prepped to my demands, I knew for sure it was the instrument for me. That was 5 years ago and I am still beyond ecstatic with my piano. Everyone at Classic was so patient, understanding, and kind while I haunted their showroom during my deliberations. I had a lot of good conversations about the various pianos there and even now I like to find excuses to go back and visit. And I'm always made welcome. The entire crew at Classic is professional and passionate about pianos and will work hard to ensure you find your perfect piano.
  • Bridget Carnahan ★★★★★ 9 months ago
    We initially went into Classic Pianos to do some research regarding options for buying a piano. There were a variety of employees with different roles that we encountered as we explored the store and all of them took the time to educate … More us about the piano decision process. The culture there felt open, patient, friendly, and down to earth. We worked with Fred as our sales person and he made the process very smooth. The pianos seem very well cared for and fairly priced. I feel confident recommending this business.
  • Sagar Sinha ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    We have known Classic Pianos for over 15 years now. We have purchased three pianos in this duration, and have attended several piano recitals. Our experience working with Classic Pianos has been great throughout however our recent experience … More buying a Grand Piano was truly remarkable because of how Fred Riley who we had engaged in this process made it special for us. He invited us over at the showroom before the store hours so that we had a safe environment and had enough time to try several pianos. He gave us space to independently decide by ourselves however provided us with valuable insights that helped us make the decision. He found time from his busy schedule to accompany the delivery of the piano on the day we wanted and since has come to tune the piano two times. We are so glad to have Fred keep our interests as his top priority.
  • Thanh & Vy Do ★★★★★ 10 months ago
    Hello,
    I thought that I would skip writing a review since I am not used to it. However, Fred from the Classic Piano has made me rethink. I bought a new baby grand Yamaha 2020 after a lot of consideration since my wife simply want to learn
    … More piano. Fred always greet us with an amazing attitude and a big smile (I can tell if it is fake). He spent time showing us all the option, test out different pianos. Oops, my wife has changed ideas many times, but Fred is very patient. I want him to know how much I appreciate the excellent service he provided. He has the best technical and social skills I have ever known. If I can describe his service in one word, it is EXCELLENT!. Good job, Fred,
    Tim & Vivian
  • Avi Alany ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    We got a very decent Baldwin several months ago. I really didn't play it much for the first bit, caught up in other things as I was. Fred, a very interesting and courteous person, came by and did the free tuning included in the … More purchase the other day. I sat down at the piano and played just now and find musical ideas developing as never before. Also, I rented a piano from the store a few years back and they delivered it during a snowstorm. Classic Pianos has been very courteous and professional every time I have dealt with them.
  • Jacob Soto ★★★★★ 11 months ago
    Fred Riley at Classic Pianos is the best!! I took my son with me to purchase our first piano and Fred made our experience fun and memorable. We felt at ease checking out pianos but it didn’t take long before he found us the perfect one … More for our budget. Our beautiful Yamaha piano is now in our home and we could not be happier. It sounds amazing and we haven’t even had our in-home tuning yet!
    As a music teacher in public schools I will wholeheartedly recommend Fred and Classic Pianos to my students and families in a heartbeat! Thank you Fred and Classic pianos for the excellent work you do in bringing joy to families like us!!
  • Ron Barnett ★★★★★ a year ago
    Fred Riley
    Assisted me in picking out a piano and in was clear from the beginning that he had my best interest in heart. I appreciated his extensive knowledge and care and patience in helping pick out the best piano and getting me the best
    … More price for that piano. He even offered to come over himself to do the first tuning of the piano once it was delivered. The rest of the staff was also courteous and professional. I never felt rushed and always felt they were there for me. I would recommend Classic Piano's to anyone looking for a new or used Acoustic or Digital piano.
    Sincerely
    Ron Barnett

Excellent Service

“Amazing! Incredible! After 20 years of not playing I met Rick at the store and his tour was so inspiring I decided that I wanted a new piano on the spot. Such excellent service and a great financing deal. No regrets! Thank you Classic Pianos!”

Jagna L.
New York, NY

Recommended

“Purchased a piano about 2 weeks ago. Peggy was just AMAZING! I told her my budget and was expecting to purchase a used piano but she worked with me and my budget and I was able to take a brand new piano home!! I couldn’t be happier!

Very happy with my purchase and would recommend this place to anyone who is looking to purchase a piano.”

Google User – ali1987

Dedicated

“I needed a reliable in-tune piano on a shoestring budget. Rick Zachery guided me to a gently used Yamaha Clavinova that fit the bill. The staff are courteous, knowledgeable and professional. Their policy allows you to trade-in a purchased instrument within two years at full value toward an upgrade — which tells you that they are sincerely dedicated to providing quality pianos for any household. It’s worth a visit just to look at the beautiful array of instruments they have in their showrooms. I would do business with Classic Pianos again.”

Lance C.
Portland, OR

We Felt Like Part of Their Team

“We partnered with Classic Pianos to purchase a new Yamaha C7X for our College Theatre as well as new upright pianos in all of the practice rooms at Mt. Hood Community College. The staff at Classic Pianos made us feel like part of their team as they evaluated our needs and advised us on which pianos would best fit each space on campus. They are the type of people that you want to partner with not just for one project, but for life!”

Dan Davey
Director of Jazz Studies
Music Instructor
Mt. Hood Community College

Our Go-to Piano Resource

“For over 15 years, Classic Pianos has been our go-to piano resource. We have worked closely with Taylor to find just the right pianos to suit our needs and we are always completely satisfied with the experience and the instrument we end up with. Thank you for all your expertise!”

Kate Andries
General Manager
The Portland Ballet

INCREDIBLE SELECTION

Ready to Browse Our Selection?

Knowledgeable staff and spacious showrooms
We are devoted to bringing the joy and power of music to families in the Pacific Northwest by representing only brands we know and trust at price points that fit any budget. Plus, our solid financing options and excellent Five-Star Trade-up Policy provide support and peace of mind so your purchase will be worry-free.